Date 24 #unexpected surprises

Standard

Source: Good old OK Cupid – give it a try I know I have had some odd dates, but not complete weirdos plus worst comes to worst you will get a laugh!

trinity-armsLocation: The Trinity Arms – http://www.trinityarms.co.uk/ Great pub for a secret garden and great vibe any day of the week.

So this young gentleman and I had sent a few emails back and forth online, he gave me his number and we got to chatting a bit. He seemed normal and friendly by all accounts and he asked to meet me for a drink. Win win in my book, after the few dates I had had I was just hoping he wasn’t wearing a weird shirt or had some weird facial disorder. I am not sure why but I was really nervous before this date, I have had a string of bad luck with the dates previous to this one and had finally got rid of the idiot that was banter boy so I finally felt like I had my A Game back, maybe that’s what was making me nervous.

We had arranged to meet at 8pm on a Monday, totally rogue for a date night but I was due to have a busy week so Monday it was. We met at the tube, and for some really strange reason I felt really awkward when we first met. I kissed him on the cheek and we headed towards to pub, in my usual style I did not stop talking, I didn’t really give him a chance to speak before we got to the pub, with me rambling about this and that, but he didn’t seem to mind.

We got to the pub and it was relatively empty, he offered to buy me a drink, 1 point scored, if nothing else he was going to beat some of the others! We decided to go outside and instantly the chat was easy, there weren’t many people in the secret garden so it was rather quiet, but it didn’t really matter as the chat flowed so easily. We talked about everything, jobs, travel, school, family – by we I mean me, of course I gave me the classic date story, it’s not really my date story, more like my first time you meet me story, which is basically my life in a nutshell, a very long, big a bit boring at times nutshell. Anyway he seemed ok with the chat and after a few glasses of wine we decided to move inside.

It was probably at this point that I had decided he was worth a second date, he was a gentleman, he wouldn’t let me buy any drinks, I made him let me in the end, but overall we got on and I liked what I had got to know. So in my mind I had already decided that I wanted to see him again. We were talking about families, and I was obviously talking about mine, it was at this point that he says ‘ Is now the time to tell you that I am divorced?’ I replied with ‘well, erm…’ before I could finish he said ‘oh and that I have a 2year old daughter!’ I was totally shocked and in my true style (well mine and my sisters) had a 100 questions. He was really open and honest about it all and explained that he and his ex-wife had parted on amicable friendly terms and he was still very much a part of his daughters life. Now, I know what a few of you will be thinking, don’t bother, a 29yr old with a kid and an ex, BUT it didn’t put me off, he was lovely and we had had fun and I don’t doubt that we will the next time I see him! (yes we have a second date, and this time he gets a saturday!!!) I don’t see why him being divorced and having a child makes any change to how I view or feel about him, it may do further down the line but I would like to get to know him more before that changes my mind.

After that bombshell, which opened up the evening a bit more as it allowed for honesty, we headed to another pub, we were having such a good time and I was really enjoying his company. It is the first date since the sexy Sri Lankan where the chat has flowed so easily and I didn’t once look at my watch to see what the time was. We ended up in a rather dodgy pub near my flat, where we started drinking desparados at midnight and an acoustic band turned up and started having some weird session and dancing around. It was all a bit odd, but we had fun and we had a cheeky, well not so cheeky, public snogging session!! For those that have ever seen me pull on a night out, it was similar to this, one of the band even asked us how long we had been together. Anyway we snogged, chatted and drank until the early hours!

As I said he had opened up the date to honesty and I don’t know weather it was that or the booze, but I suddenly felt like I had to tell him about the blog. It just kind of came from nowhere, I told him about the challenge that I had set myself and he said it sounded fun and he was intrigued to read! I so pleased he took it so well as I have previously worried about what some of the dates might think about it! He seemed cool with it and had some questions about weather I just went on dates for the blog, I said no and that is the truth, well apart from my one and only girl date! He read the blog and funnily enough he said that he like most people didn’t like the sound of Banter Boy and that I seemed to have most fun with the Sexy Sri Lankan. Anyway he was nice, we had fun, we snogged, he knew about the blog, he seemed interested and I am looking forward to seeing him on Saturday. We have been in touch over text since our date which is nice, I am weary that I don’t want to get into another text relationship as that always ends badly but we shall see with this one…until my next date, as always get me dating.

Rating: 8/10 – purely to give him something to work from!

IMG_5312

Leave a comment