Date #11: The good time girl- a response from Mr Nice!

Standard

How to respond when someone writes about you: A blog by Mr Nice

Response #1 : the Good Time Girl

Dear readers, I must admit to the best of my knowledge this is the first time I have been aware of someone writing about me after I’ve been on a date. It would be foolhardy of anyone to think that when the embers of the sparks created on a first date have extinguished you don’t get discussed among the friends of your date. Typing this I can hear echoes of lines that may have been said about me in the past by disgruntled dates ‘the bar he took me was so loud there was a band soundchecking in the corner so you couldn’t hear each other UNLESS YOU SPOKE LIKE THIS!’ Or ‘He tripped when carrying our mulled wine and spilt it all over the place. He tried to put a brave face on it but his hand was clearly burnt’ Or ‘When I arrived he was clearly checking out the arse of another girl walking across the bar’. However, to know that not only will your date talk about you with her mates, she will also publish her thoughts online is quite an unusual notion, like an upcoming band who know a top music journalist is coming to review their gig. Yet it’s an intriguing prospect knowing you will get feedback or constructive criticism or however you want to put it, as clearly deep down everyone would love to know exactly what people think of them, be it good, or bad.

So I arrived on the date with about 5 minutes to spare, sneakily entering through the opposite entrance than we’d arranged to meet at to allow for a quick toilet stop, where I was convinced that even if she was early, she wouldn’t see me. Surely nothing would create a worse first impression than ‘hello, nice to meet you, sorry, I’m bursting for a piss’. Fortunately I get to the rendezvous in the bar about a minute before she does and right from the off I feel very comfortable in the Good Time Girl’s company as she is so easy to chat to. As soon as we have sat at our table she declares that I am date #11 in her 100 date quest and asks ‘what should I call you?’ In my head I think ‘Johnny big cock’ but that is neither appropriate nor accurate, and certainly not something I’m going to say during the first drink anyway.

Conversation was great, although perhaps unusual for a first date in that for much of the time we were chatting about other dates, like her ‘Sexy Sri Lankan’ (booo-hisss-booo) or my ‘washing up lady’ (long story). It is funny that whenever ‘others’ are discussed it does kind of make you feel better about yourself if only for the consolation of ‘well at least I’m not that guy’.  I have always just found it massively entertaining hearing people, male or female, talk about crap dates, it is one subject where everyone tends to get highly animated and due to Good Time Girls gift of the garb I’m happy to sit and listen to her amusingly bemoan the various follies of the 10 dates before me. It wasn’t solely all about dates though and the general chit-chat never seemed stilted or forced as it can sometimes on these occasions and after we brought the date to what seemed like a natural conclusion with a meal, I went home thinking that it genuinely was one of the most pleasant first dates I have ever been on.

That said, I’m certainly sure that I did not make the Good Time Girl’s ‘fanny gallop’ as she has said of another individual on this blog, but I can confirm that a line she did write about leaving the date with Mr Nice having perhaps found a new friend is wholly reciprocated and I look forward to meeting up with her again sometime soon, not least for the reason that being a rather competitive individual I must strive and raise my 7/10 rating up to at least an 8 next time…

Leave a comment