Date number 4.#the blind date

Standard

Source: Guardian Blind date – feature every Saturday in the weekend supplement – Fancy a blind date? Email blind.date@guardian.co.uk.

Bibigo, Soho, LondonLocation: Bibigo – Great Marlborough Street. http://bibigouk.com/

The Guardian Blind date – I work with a girl who had done this and suggested it would be a good idea to email in and say I wanted to go. So that is what I did, sent my email and was told to that I would have to wait and within 6 weeks I had a date. The details that I gave of myself, ‘ I work in events for a charity. I come from a big family and love spending time with them and my friends. I love live music, good food and a great red wine. I also love to chat the night away about random things and have a giggle and a bit of banter. I love to travel and talk about the places I have been and the places I want to go.’ A relatively good description don’t you think? Well those that know me anyway!! Only thing I forgot to submit was that I am relatively tall and not small by any stretch of the imagination – was I going to get a midget or some below average sized man!? Ahh the real date dread begun. Until I got my details of my blind date: ‘He works for a charity. He lists his interest as music, travel, politics, tennis and skateboarding. ” Can’t be that bad was my first impression! I read and re-read the description of him a few times, exactly the way you re-read texts and emails to a prospective lover, you know me, always one to over think and over analyse!

The date: I was nervous, I was nervous, I was nervous….. I walked in, at 7.27 good timing if you ask me, couldn’t open the push door, so the waitress had to come and help me. I quietly said ‘I am here for the Blind Date” my heart pounding, my hands shaking, sweat dripping down the back of my neck, she pointed towards the bar and there he was sat with a beer talking to the barman. I boldly walked over, said his name and introduced myself. First impressions, WOW your hot and you’re not a midget!!! As we walked to our seats I was thinking, thank god you look normal, you look NORMAL!!! I choose a cocktail and the chat began, he was easy to talk to and easy to look at, he was confident but not arrogant, he was interesting but not boring, he was attractive but didn’t know it, so what was wrong with him, well nothing really. We got on and I felt like I had known him a long time, however we are not that well suited, he was too intelligent for me. He told me which company he worked for, a humanitarian charity, I stupidly said I knew who they were, you know in the way you do when you’re not really sure and you don’t want to seem like a total div, I am pretty sure it was at the moment we both mutually decided that it wasn’t going to be anything more. However we had a nice time, talked about the biscuit question, holidays, families, hobbies, life, jobs, he was lovely and if anyone wants to find out more about the date, watch out for the Guardian on 1st December. You will get to see the beautiful man I dated! He is lovely ladies, and definitely continued my faith that nice men do exist I just haven’t met mine yet, so don’t give up home ladies!

Onto the next…..

IMG_5183 Rating: 6/10 – lovely guy, fun and continued my faith that nice men live on! Well done Blind Date. To read what he thought about me: http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2012/nov/30/blind-date-alys-ben

Leave a comment